Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Young Female Athlete

Home > Our community > News & events > Civic & Community Awards > Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Young Female Athlete

2020-21 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Recipient

Whether on the track field or on the basketball court, Tatum Wade is a super star in the making. This cross country and track and field athlete is a champion in the 1500 metre steeplechase – and plays a key role on the OKM Sr Girls Basketball Team, while still finding time to give back to the community. Last year Tatum had the honour of being mentioned as one of the “Top 15 Players to Watch out for in BC.” She is a hard-working student and achieved Principal’s List status throughout her high school career. As a Link leader for grade 9 students, she mentors with maturity and positivity. Tatum has signed on to the University of Calgary for basketball, we wish her all the best!

About the Augie Ciancone Memorial Award for Young Female Athlete

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports.  

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding female high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Central Schools Athletic Association.

Nominations for the 48th annual Civic & Community Awards will open Dec. 5, 2022. 

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2019 - Madelyn Hettinga
  • 2018 - Lonica McKinney
  • 2017 - Taryn O'Neill
  • 2016 - Ashlyn Day
  • 2015 - Ellie McCarthy
  • 2014 - Emma Johnson
  • 2013 - Jacqueline Sellers
  • 2012 - Olivia Johnson
  • 2011 - Justine Drosdovech
  • 2010 - Jonel Boileau
  • 2009 - Sydney Mullen
  • 2008 - Abigail Raye/Chantal McFetridge
  • 2007 - Danielle Hennig
  • 2006 - Kayla Ungaro
  • 2005 - Robyn Buna
  • 2004 - Samantha Aynsley
  • 2003 - Katie Woodman
  • 2002 - Alison Pendray/Kyla Jones
  • 2001 - Tara Murphy
  • 2000 - Kirby Dow/Carly Czuba
  • 1999 - Heather Mandoli/Rachelle Thomas