Bob Giordano Memorial Award - Coach of the Year

Home > Our community > News & events > Civic & Community Awards > Bob Giordano Memorial Award - Coach of the Year

2021 Bob Giordano Memorial Award Recipient

2021 marks the tenth year that coach Mike Sodaro has led the KSS Owls AAA Boys Volleyball Program. After a decade of coming so close, the Owls went all the way in 2021, winning multiple tournaments and championships including the UBC Boys Volleyball Championships, the TRU Tournament and The KSS Best of the West Tournament. The KSS Owls also won the AAA BC Boys Provincial Championships, the first time since 1953.

Mike is also the founder, president and head coach for the Kelowna Barn Owls Volleyball Club where he runs both boys and girl’s programs. Mike has over 20 years of coaching every sport from volleyball and basketball to hockey and soccer. Coaching six days a week means it is near impossible to count the number of hours Mike has devoted!

About the Bob Giordano Memorial Award for Coach of the Year

The name Bob Giordano was synonymous with hockey in the Central Okanagan in the 1950's and 60's.  Giordano wasn't known for his athletic prowess, it was his organizational skills and enthusiasm for the game that made him an indispensable part of the local sporting fabric.  Bob truly loved to share his time and talent with the young people of Kelowna.  

Bob passed away in October 1965.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to an individual who has contributed significantly to Kelowna through voluntary service to amateur sport, such as coaching or administrative support. 
  • Selections are based on the nominees achievements/contributions for the year 2021.
  • Past information can be included, but should primarily be regarding the current award year.
  • Nominees must no have personally benefitted from their volunteer activities, nor should the contributions be considered part of their normal employment or job responsibilities.
  • Selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

Nominations for the 48th annual Civic & Community Awards will open Dec. 5, 2022.

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2020 - Meghan Faust
  • 2019 - Darcy Rysz
  • 2018 - Devin Rubadeau
  • 2017 - Linda McIntosh
  • 2016 - Kendall Gross
  • 2015 - Dennis Richardson
  • 2014 - Tom Maxwell
  • 2013 - Dino Gini
  • 2012 - Hal Hennenfent
  • 2011 - Tony Sodaro
  • 2010 - Terry Britton
  • 2009 - Arnar Bernhardsson
  • 2008 - Dan Wray
  • 2007 - Garth Vickers
  • 2006 - Dave McClellan 
  • 2005 - Jane Fairey 
  • 2004 - Ross Sutcliffe
  • 2003 - Ken Wilson
  • 2002 - Lloyd Nelson
  • 2001 - Jennifer Charles
  • 2000 - Kevin Davies
  • 1999 - Joan Schemley