Performing arts task force membership update

November 10, 2023

News Release

On November 6, at its regular council meeting, Kelowna City Council endorsed the appointment of Lauren Macaulay to the City’s new community task force on performing arts. 

The purpose of the task force, which will be chaired by Mayor Tom Dyas, is to provide recommendations to Council on community-driven partnership opportunities to advance the redevelopment of Kelowna Community Theatre (KCT).  

Macaulay is the final member to be appointed to the task force, which also includes: 

  • Shane Styles 
  • Robert Fine 
  • Ryan Donn 
  • Laura Doncom 
  • Lesley Cormack 
  • Lisanne Ballantyne 
  • Nikki Csek 
  • Councillor Rick Webber 

“Arts and culture play a vital role in enhancing the vibrancy, resiliency, and sustainability of communities,” said Mayor Tom Dyas. “I’m grateful to the volunteer task force members for sharing their time and expertise to work collaboratively with us as we embark on a vision for the future of the Kelowna Community Theatre. We will explore creative solutions to meet the growing needs of our community and create a world class facility in Kelowna.” 

The task force will focus on:  

  • Identifying partnership opportunities for the redevelopment of KCT. 
  • Engaging the public for their vision for KCT redevelopment opportunities. 
  • Increasing integration between all stakeholders involved in the performing arts. 
  • Identifying philanthropic opportunities to fund, in part, a new KCT and to what extent. 

Kelowna Community Theatre opened in 1962. Each year the theatre welcomes over 250 events ranging from comedy to music, dance and theatrical performances. For more information on the theatre, visit For information on the task force, including the terms of reference, visit