One week left to nominate Kelowna’s best for a Civic & Community Award

February 2, 2024

News Release

With one week left in the nomination period, it’s the last chance to help recognize the outstanding individuals, businesses and non-profit organizations that made Kelowna a great place to live in 2023. Nominations for the 49th annual Civic & Community Awards close on Friday, Feb. 9. 

“The Civic & Community Awards is our opportunity to celebrate those that make our community shine. Whether it be through the arts, sports and recreation, environmental protection, social justice, or community service, we want to honour those who went above and beyond in 2023,” said Chris Babcock, Event Development Supervisor.

Civic & Community Award nomination categories include:  

  • Sarah Donalda Treadgold & Fred Macklin Memorial Award – Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year 
  • Champion for the Environment 
  • Corporate Community of the Year 
  • Honour in the Arts 
  • Teen Honour in the Arts 
  • Bob Giordano Memorial Award – Volunteer Coach or Sport Administrator of the Year 
  • Bryan Couling Memorial Award - Athletic Team of the Year 
  • Central Okanagan Foundation - Volunteer Organization of the Year Male & Female Athlete of the Year 

 All three finalists for the Young Citizen of the Year Award will receive funding towards their post-secondary goals through the Payton and Dillon Budd Memorial Fund Youth Scholarship. This award's recipient will receive $2,000 and the remaining finalists will receive $1,000. 

The recipient for Teen Honour in the Arts will also receive a $500 entrance scholarship to UBC Okanagan, sponsored by the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies. 

In addition, the recipient for the Central Okanagan Foundation’s Volunteer Organization of the Year will receive a $3,000 donation from the Central Okanagan Foundation. 

The Civic & Community Award nominees will be celebrated at an evening gala on Wednesday, April 24 at the Laurel Packinghouse. Nominations forms are due by Feb. 9, 2024. 

For more information about the awards, including nomination forms, visit