Young Male Volunteer of the Year Award

Award Criteria

  • Nominees must be between the ages of 13 and 19 as of December 31, 2017.
  • Awarded to a young male citizen, in recognition of his outstanding voluntary contributions to the well-being of the city of Kelowna. Contributions may be related to recreation, the arts, education, humanities, community service, and/or medical/business/commerce fields.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements/contributions for the year 2017. Past information may be included, but should primarily be regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

The three successful finalists will receive funding towards their post secondary goals from the Dillon Thomas Budd Youth Scholarship - $1,000 for the award recipient and $500 for each of the two finalists. 
Sponsored by the Thomas Alan Budd Foundation. 

2016 Young Male of the Year Award Recipient

Andrew Kates

"Without a sense of caring, there can be no sense of community," is a saying Andrew Kates likes to quote when asked why he volunteers – something he does on a regular basis.

From the Gospel Mission and Kelowna Food Bank to Okanagan Dragon Boat Club and Okanagan Pride Society, Andrew has been a coveted volunteer over the past few years. He’s also volunteered at the Fat Cat Children’s Festival and at his karate dojo.

A student at Okanagan Mission Secondary, Andrew is a member of the Leadership Class and Interact Club as well as the Student Youth Volunteer Challenge. And while many are grateful for the time he volunteers, his ability to inspire others to volunteer has become even more valuable.

Andrew also volunteers his musical talents playing at events like the Gutsy Walk for Crohns and Colitis, Christmas is Coming for the food bank, as well as Wentworth Music Concerts that have raised money for the Kelowna General Hospital and the unveiling of his school’s renovations.

Award Sponsored by:

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2015 - Stuart Isherwood
  • 2014 - Nikolai Lesack
  • 2013 - Jonathon Charlton
  • 2012 - Eli McAlpine
  • 2011 - Terry Lee
  • 2010 - Peter Davidson
  • 2009 - Cody O'Neil
  • 2008 - KJ Hansen
  • 2007 - Ori Powell
  • 2006 - Kevin Craig
  • 2005 - Chris Hall
  • 2004 - Aaron Erhardt
  • 2002 - Daniel Mandryk
  • 2001 - Mark Chambers
  • 2000 - Trevor Roy
  • 1999 - Ben Laurie