Teen Honour in the Arts Awards

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to a youth who has made an outstanding contribution to Kelowna through cultural and/or artistic efforts.  
  • Must be between the ages of 13 and 19 as of Dec. 31, 2018.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's special accomplishments, contributions and awards for the year 2018.
  • Past information may be included, but should primarily be regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

2017 Teen Honour in the Arts Award Recipient

Madelyn Miyashita

While Madelyn might be known as a singer-dancer-actor ‘triple threat’, she is an equally talented musician on several instruments as well. Her main band instrument is French Horn and traveled to Europe on a band trip. But wanting to expand beyond OKM’s Concert Band into jazz, she taught herself the trombone and now leads the section that’s heading to the Lionel Hampton Jazz Festival. She’s also earned First Class Honours awards from the Royal Conservatory of Music in both piano and theory.

As a dancer, she achieved ‘Merit’ in Advanced 1 ballet from the RAD and performed many roles in Nutcracker. She mentors students and is a guest choreographer for OKM’s dance class. This year, Madelyn was also the lead choreographer for Anything Goes, Beauty and the Beast, and Shrek, while at the same time, performing the lead roles in all three musicals. In summer, she opens her garage up and teaches free dance classes.

Aside from her school’s theatre and band programs, Madelyn was a key organizer of An Evening of the Arts, a community event created to showcase local youth talent.

Madelyn has also performed with Kelowna’s Bumbershoot Theatre and in 2017, played the lead role of Amy March in Little Women.

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2016 - Andrew Kates
  • 2015 - Lauren Maier
  • 2014 - Antony Knight
  • 2013 - Mandy Jong
  • 2012 - Quinn Bates
  • 2011 - Hayley Manlove
  • 2010 - Grace Kim 
  • 2009 - Haley Blais
  • 2008 - Evan Kascak
  • 2007 - Chad Abrahamson
  • 2006 - Melissa Wilmot
  • 2005 - Carmen Harris
  • 2004 - Joshua Ferguson
  • 2003 - Devin Roth
  • 2002 - Mitchell Howanyk
  • 2001 - Greg Sawisky
  • 2000 - Meaghan McRae


Award sponsored by: