Fred Macklin Memorial Award - Man of the Year

Fred Macklin served Kelowna in many ways throughout his life.  He was the secretary treasurer of School District #23 from 1956 to 1974 and from 1976 to 1984 he was a City of Kelowna Alderman.  Fred Macklin was also seconded by the Ministry of Education to consult on education finance for two years.  He was chairman of many organizations including the Kelowna Parks and Recreation Committee, Labour Relations Board, the City Transit Management Committee and the BC Transit Council of BC.  He was also Director and Chairman of the Public Employees Council of BC.  Fred also served as the Honorary Treasurer of the Okanagan Regional Library Board. 

Fred passed away in 1984.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to a man in recognition of his outstanding voluntary contributions and community service to the city of Kelowna. Activities may be related to arts and culture, business, commerce, education, humanities, medical and recreation.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements and contributions throughout 2017.
  • Past volunteer information may be included, but the nomination should focus on the current award year.  
  • Nominees must not have personally benefited from their activities, nor should the contributions be considered part of their normal employment or job responsibilities.

2016 Fred Macklin Memorial Award Recipient

Gary Benson

The saying, "Volunteers do not necessarily have the time, they just have the heart," has been used to describe Garry Benson, who manages to volunteer well over 400 hours of his time each year.

In 2016, some of those hours were spent as a director of both the Uptown Rutland Business Associatio n and the Rutland Park Society as well as a director of East Meets West Orphan Foundation. More hours went towards being past chair and director of the Economic Development Commission, being a founding member of H.E.L.P BC and a member of the Central Okanagan Indian Friendship Centre and volunteer with the Hope and Heal Foundation.

Garry has donated over 1500 hours of pro-bono legal counsel to people and organizations in need including the Knights of Columbus, Housing Society, Serbian Society and First Nations groups.

As the head of TRUST, The Rutland Unified Stakeholder’s Team, monies for Roxby Square, Highway 33 and Centennial Park improvements were made possible.

Whether it’s donating his board room for the Uptown Rutland Business Association’s month ly meetings or volunteering as a chef at a BC Cancer Society event, Garry has found a way to make time for them all.

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2015 - Raghwa Gopal
  • 2014 - David Krysko
  • 2013 - Sean Pihl
  • 2012 - Ken Thompson
  • 2011 - Paul Nesbitt
  • 2010 - Thomas Budd
  • 2009 - Vern Neilson
  • 2008 - Ron Rubadeau
  • 2007 - Walter Gray
  • 2006 - Ian Graham
  • 2005 - Steve Tuck
  • 2004 - Ken Campbell
  • 2003 - Mel Kotler
  • 2002 - Clarence Johnson
  • 2001 - Peter Nahirnak
  • 2000 - Walter Hut/Bren Witt
  • 1999 - Tom Smithwick

Award sponsored by: