Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Young Female Athlete

Home > Our community > News & events > Civic & Community Awards > Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Young Female Athlete

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports.  

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding female high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Central Schools Athletic Association.

*The School District will not be taking nominations this year due to the shortened 2020 sports season.  

2019 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Recipient

Madelyn Hettinga

A member of the Senior Girls Volleyball team at KSS for the past two years and the UBCO Junior Heat team for three seasons, Madelyn was ranked as the number two overall volleyball player in BC by U Sport coaches. But that’s only part of her sporting life.

Madelyn is also on her school’s track and field team, winning gold in the 4x100 and bronze in the 400m hurdle at Provincials. She trains for heptathlon with the Vernon Amateur Athletics club and competes with the Okanagan Running Club. She also attended the Pacific Sport Academy for further training and won gold at the 2019 Provincial Heptathlon Championships.

At school, she also plays on the Senior Girls B Basketball team and was named a finalist for Sport BC’s Female High School Athlete of the Year award. Academically, she has an 87% average and is a member of the Rec Leadership team, helping to organize events at her school.

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2018 - Lonica McKinney
  • 2017 - Taryn O'Neill
  • 2016 - Ashlyn Day
  • 2015 - Ellie McCarthy
  • 2014 - Emma Johnson
  • 2013 - Jacqueline Sellers
  • 2012 - Olivia Johnson
  • 2011 - Justine Drosdovech
  • 2010 - Jonel Boileau
  • 2009 - Sydney Mullen
  • 2008 - Abigail Raye/Chantal McFetridge
  • 2007 - Danielle Hennig
  • 2006 - Kayla Ungaro
  • 2005 - Robyn Buna
  • 2004 - Samantha Aynsley
  • 2003 - Katie Woodman
  • 2002 - Alison Pendray/Kyla Jones
  • 2001 - Tara Murphy
  • 2000 - Kirby Dow/Carly Czuba
  • 1999 - Heather Mandoli/Rachelle Thomas