Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Young Male Athlete

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports.  

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding male high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Central Schools Athletic Association. 

 To nominate someone, please contact the  School District

2017 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Male Recipient

Clarke Larsen

Once upon a time, back in grade nine, Clarke Larsen got a "B" on his report card. But ever since that catastrophic day, he’s never had anything but A’s. Lots of A’s. In fact, so many A’s that even the school sports teams he’s played on increased their number of A’s, going from a double A status to triple A in soccer, volleyball and basketball.

This year, as co-captain of the new AAA Senior Boys Soccer team at Okanagan Mission Secondary, Clarke led the team to win the valley championships and was recognized as the top player of the team. He also helped the Senior Boys Volleyball team win their first AAA valley championship, as well as playing for the Senior Boys’ Basketball team.

As a member of the Kelowna United U18 boys team, Clarke captained the team to gold at Provincials this past summer.

Clarke is a regular volunteer at school with scorekeeping and refereeing and is also part of the OKM Grad Council and Special Events Committee.

Throughout his entire academic run at OKM, Clarke has maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA.

Award Sponsored by:

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2016 - Fynn McCarthy
  • 2015 - Parker Simson
  • 2014 - Jeff Tubbs
  • 2013 - Josiah Joseph
  • 2012 - Ryan Linttell
  • 2011 - Mitchell Goodwin
  • 2010 - Devin Spence
  • 2009 - Conner Clerke 
  • 2008 - Adam Schwarz
  • 2007 - Lukas Bonnett
  • 2006 - Zack Frehlick
  • 2005 - Quinten Dreger
  • 2004 - Will Dean
  • 2003 - Kyle Murphy
  • 2002 - Jeff Barth
  • 2001 - Dallas Weller
  • 2000 - Troy Doell
  • 1999 - John Rowe