Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Female

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports.  

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding female high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Central Schools Athletic Association.

To nominate someone, please contact the School District at

2016 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Recipient

Ashlyn Day

Being part of a provincial winning team is something very few athletes get to experience. For Ashlyn Day, however, it’s become almost commonplace, having won eight of them during her years at Immaculata, with soccer season still to go.

Ashlyn is a true triple threat in high school sports, exc elling in volleyball, basketball and soccer. Accolades span from Athlete of the Year to MVP at the B.C. Catholics basketball tournament and named a 1st team All -Star at Provincials. Selected as one of the top 15 players in the province, she spent two years on the BC Provincial Basketball team. She is also a former Kelowna United soccer player and has earned MVP and all -star designations in all three sports.

A team player off the field as well, Ashlyn is a member of the student council, volunteers doing scorekeeping, audio/visual at assemblies, and has helped with basketball camps.

Academically, Ashlyn has a 3.6 GPA and will be heading to University of Victoria next year as part of their basketball team.

Award Sponsored by:

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2015 - Ellie McCarthy
  • 2014 - Emma Johnson
  • 2013 - Jacqueline Sellers
  • 2012 - Olivia Johnson
  • 2011 - Justine Drosdovech
  • 2010 - Jonel Boileau
  • 2009 - Sydney Mullen
  • 2008 - Abigail Raye/Chantal McFetridge
  • 2007 - Danielle Hennig
  • 2006 - Kayla Ungaro
  • 2005 - Robyn Buna
  • 2004 - Samantha Aynsley
  • 2003 - Katie Woodman
  • 2002 - Alison Pendray/Kyla Jones
  • 2001 - Tara Murphy
  • 2000 - Kirby Dow/Carly Czuba
  • 1999 - Heather Mandoli/Rachelle Thomas