Female Athlete of the Year Award

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the female athlete (amateur or professional) who brought the greatest amount of recognition to Kelowna. 
  • Include Provincial, National and World Ranking if applicable.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements for the year 2017.
  • Past information (awards and achievements) may be included, but should be primarily regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

2016 Female Athlete of the Year Award Recipient

Taylor Ruck

Despite living in Arizona, Taylor Ruck has chosen to swim for Team Canada. Born in Kelowna, she has spent her summers training with the Aqua Jets, and has always called Kelowna home.

Her first opportunity to sport a maple leaf came at the Singapore 2015 FINA World Junior Championships, where she won six medals, including gold in both 100 and 200 -metre freestyle, breaking championship records in both.

2016 started off with her being named Youth Female Swimmer of the Year by Swimming Canada. Then, we all held our breath as Taylor, Penny Oleksiak and the rest of Team Canada’s 4x100 relay team won our first medal of the Rio 2016 Olympics, followed by a second medal in the 4X200.

After leaving Rio, it was on to the FINA World Championships where Taylor won bronze in 200 - metre freestyle, smashing the Canadian record by nearly two seconds and setting a new Junior World Record. Taylor then reunited with Penny Oleksiak and fellow team members to win Team Canada’s first gold in the 4x200 freestyle relay, with Taylor having the fastest split of the field. At the 2016 Short Course World Championships, she won gold again in the 4x200 as well as bronze in the 200-metre freestyle.

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2015 - Kierra Smith
  • 2014 - Kelsey Serwa
  • 2013 - Keely Watts-Watling
  • 2012 - Jen Woods
  • 2011 - Kelsey Serwa
  • 2010 - Kelsey Serwa
  • 2009 - Samantha Richdale
  • 2008 - Heather Mandoli
  • 2007 - Sarah Charles
  • 2006 - Robyn Buna
  • 2005 - Jessie Denys
  • 2003 - Sarah Charles