City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Young Male Volunteer of the Year Award

Young Male Volunteer of the Year Award

Award Criteria

  • Nominees must be between the ages of 13 and 19 as of December 31, 2016.
  • Awarded to a young male citizen, in recognition of his outstanding voluntary contributions to the well-being of the city of Kelowna. Contributions may be related to recreation, the arts, education, humanities, community service, and/or medical/business/commerce fields.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements/contributions for the year 2016. Past information may be included, but should primarily be regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

Nominate a deserving individual for Young Male of the Year. online nomination / pdf nomination

The three successful finalists will receive funding towards their post secondary goals from the Dillon Thomas Budd Youth Scholarship - $1,000 for the award recipient and $500 for each of the two finalists. 
Sponsored by the Thomas Alan Budd Foundation.

2015 Young Male of the Year Award Recipient

Stuart Isherwood


“It’s in you to give” – the slogan for Canadian Blood Services, is something that Stuart Isherwood takes to heart. As part of the KSS Young Blood for Life program, he has coordinated two blood drives in the past year that also involved educating fellow students about the need for blood. He’s also a regular donor.

Stuart is a long time volunteer at the Kelowna General Hospital where he works at both the Royal Bistro and on the research team in Emergency. He is also a volunteer with Canadian Hospital Injury Reporting and Prevention Program and a Hospital Book Delivery volunteer as part of the Hospital’s library system.

At school, Stuart is a member of the KSS Interact Club, Young Liberals, Reach for the Top and the Grad Council. He works part time at McDonald's after school and is also a volunteer with the Ronald McDonald House Charity.

In 2014, he was chosen to attend the Canadian Student Leadership Conference and spent part of the summer volunteering at Camp OC. His volunteer hours for 2015 total 373 hours.


Past Recipients of the Award

2015 - Stuart Isherwood
2014 - Nikolai Lesack
2013 - Jonathon Charlton
2012 - Eli McAlpine
2011 - Terry Lee
2010 - Peter Davidson
2009 - Cody O'Neil
2008 - KJ Hansen
2007 - Ori Powell
2006 - Kevin Craig
2005 - Chris Hall
2004 - Aaron Erhardt
2002 - Daniel Mandryk
2001 - Mark Chambers
2000 - Trevor Roy
1999 - Ben Laurie


Award Sponsored by



Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy