City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Honour in the Arts Award

Honour in the Arts Award

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to Kelowna through cultural and/or artistic efforts.  
  • Selections are based on the nominee's special accomplishments, contributions and awards for the year 2016.
  • Past information may be included, but should primarily be regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

Nominate a deserving individual for Honour in the Arts award. online nomination / pdf nomination

​The City of Kelowna's Civic and Community Awards program is proud to partner with the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan to recognize deserving artists and cultural practitioners. Residents are also encouraged to nominate individuals for the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan's Annual Okanagan Arts Awards, for more information, visit  

2015 Honour in the Arts Award Recipient

Rosemary Thomson


Since becoming one of the first woman music director of a Canadian orchestra eight years ago, Rosemary Thomson has made it her goal to raise awareness and passion for the arts.
Her Okanagan Symphony pre-concert lectures, program notes and the anecdotes shared on stage have helped educate the general public and her endeavour to promote local talent whenever she can has led to many memorable performances. But where she is making the biggest difference is with our youth.

She brought Symphony Storytime to the library and the Musicians in the Making to the theatre’s lobby to perform for the pre-symphony crowd.  She launched Your Story at the Symphony encouraging kids to write stories that could be set to music. She also worked with 90 violin and cello students at String the Thing in April 2015.

She’s promoted other arts organizations through collaborations with Bumbershoot Theatre, Opera Kelowna, Ballet Kelowna, Kelowna Community Music School and more.

Also renowned for her choral work, Rosemary started the Okanagan Symphony Youth Chorus as well as the Okanagan Symphony Chorus while continuing to co-conduct the Youth Symphony.

Rosemary’s guest appearances ranged from singing at the Rockets game to conducting the Vancouver Symphony and UBC Opera and Opera Orchestra.

Past Recipients of the Award

2015 - Rosemary Thomson
2014 - Jennifer Schell
2013 - Glenna Turnbull
2012 - Anna Jacyszyn
2011 - Nathan Flavel
2010 - Quinn Best
2009 - Randy Leslie
2008 - George Cwiklewski
2007 - Wendy McCracken
2006 - Gayle Liman
2005 - Neal Facey
2004 - Hugh Parsons
2003 - Roslyn Frantz
2002 - Rod Charlesworth
2001 - Dr. Jayne Brooks
2000 - Alice Hargreaves
1999 - Marina and Harold Pettman

Award Sponsored By 

prospera credit union logo

Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy