City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Female


Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Female

Award History

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports.  

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding female high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Schools Athletic Association.

To nominate someone, please contact the School District at

2015 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Recipient

Ellie McCarthy



As captain of both the Senior Girls basketball team at KSS and the UBCO U17 Junior Heat, Ellie has played an integral part in her teams’ success. This past year, the KSS team was ranked third in the province and she was named one of the top athletes of the year at her school. She is looking forward to playing basketball at the Canadian College level next year as well as being part of Team BC

In addition to her commitment to basketball, Ellie also is a starter and key player on both the KSS Senior Girls Volleyball team as well as playing with the Kelowna Volleyball Club.  With her help, the KSS Senior Girls team was ranked first throughout most of the season. She also works with younger players to help them develop their skills.

At school, Ellie was an active member of the Link Crew and volunteered as a referee for junior team matches as well as a scorekeeper for basketball. She also took part in grad activities.

Academically, she is part of an elite group of students involved in the Leadership class.





Past Recipients of the Award

2015 - Ellie McCarthy
2014 - Emma Johnson
2013 - Jacqueline Sellers
2012 - Olivia Johnson
2011 - Justine Drosdovech
2010 - Jonel Boileau
2009 - Sydney Mullen
2008 - Abigail Raye/Chantal McFetridge
2007 - Danielle Hennig
2006 - Kayla Ungaro
2005 - Robyn Buna
2004 - Samantha Aynsley
2003 - Katie Woodman
2002 - Alison Pendray/Kyla Jones
2001 - Tara Murphy
2000 - Kirby Dow/Carly Czuba
1999 - Heather Mandoli/Rachelle Thomas

Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy