City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Male

Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Male

Award History

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports. 

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding male high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Schools Athletic Association. 

 To nominate someone, please contact the School District

2015 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Male Recipient

Parker Simson


As one of the provincial leaders in passing, rushing and receiving, it came as little surprise that Parker was awarded varsity football’s Provincial Offensive Player of the Year award. What did come as a surprise, however, was that he was also named the Provincial Defensive Player of the Year. His talents on the field are so dominant that he is a coveted player for Team BC and was featured on American television’s Fox Sports One and on the Bleacher Report’s internet sports coverage.

During the off-season of football, Parker was captain of the KSS Owls AAAA basketball team, having twice earned the Okanagan Valley’s Most Valuable Player and in 2015, MVP at the Western Canada Tournament and a first team all-star. He also plays on Team BC’s Basketball team and is a member of the Canadian Centre for Performance for Basketball.

Parker volunteered to help coach the KSS Junior football team while he was injured and became a volunteer assistant basketball coach in the KMBA, attending leadership conferences to learn more. Despite all his training, volunteering and a part time job, he still found time to earn excellent grades.



Past Recipients of the Award

2015 - Parker Simson
2014 - Jeff Tubbs
2013 - Josiah Joseph
2012 - Ryan Linttell
2011 - Mitchell Goodwin
2010 - Devin Spence
2009 - Conner Clerke 
2008 - Adam Schwarz
2007 - Lukas Bonnett
2006 - Zack Frehlick
2005 - Quinten Dreger
2004 - Will Dean
2003 - Kyle Murphy
2002 - Jeff Barth
2001 - Dallas Weller
2000 - Troy Doell
1999 - John Rowe

Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy