City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Male Athlete of the Year Award

Male Athlete of the Year Award

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the male athlete (amateur or professional) who brought the greatest amount of recognition to Kelowna in 2016.
  • Include Provincial, National and World Ranking if applicable.
  • Selections are based on the nominees achievements for the year 2016.
  • Past information (awards and achievements) may be included, but should be primarily regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed package.

Nominate a deserving individual for Male Athlete of the Year. online nomination / pdf nomination

2015 Male Athlete of the Year Award Recipient

Will Dean


“Row row row your boat, gently down the stream...”

Gently? No.  Smoothly, yes.

Born and raised in Kelowna, Will first started rowing for Canada in 2008, winning a silver medal in the U-23 World Championships. After attending University of California on a rowing scholarship, he moved to Victoria to train full time with the Senior National Team.

In 2012, Will competed in London at the 2012 Olympics and is now training for the 2016 summer games in Rio, determined to better his 9th place finish with a medal this time.

In 2015, Will made headlines, winning two gold medals at the PanAm Games on the men’s four and eight plus teams. His teams repeated the same feat with two more gold medals at the Hollandbecker, then the four-man team won bronze at the World Cup.

Being an Olympic rower requires training seven days a week through wind, rain and snow. To balance out the rigors of rowing’s physical demands, Will is an avid yogi, describing yoga as the yin to the yang of rowing.

Will is a passionate and motivated public speaker and is requested to appear at numerous events every year.

Past Recipients of the Award

2015 - Will Dean
2014 - Robbie Yochim
2013 - Alex Hart
2012 - Rostam Turner
2011 - Keefer Joyce
2010 - Dan Crockett 
2009 - Daniel Brown
2008 - Scott Frandsen
2007 - Steve Omischl
2006 - Carlos Guglielmi
2005 - Craig Buntin
2004 - Mervin Watson
2002 - Clayton Miller
2001 - Rob Friend
2000 - Aaron David
1999 - Conrad Leinemann



Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy