46th annual Civic and Community Award winners

April 26, 2021

News Release

46th annual Civic and Community Award winners

Throughout the month of April, finalists of the 46th annual Civic and Community Awards have been celebrated online with winners announced each Monday in Council Chambers in lieu of an evening gala.

Congratulations to the final three winners announced today including Kelowna’s Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year, and to all finalists and recipients of the Civic & Community Awards who showed spirit, resiliency, and excellence in 2020.

The 46th annual Civic & Community Award winners are:

Anita Tozer Memorial Award – bestowed by Kelowna Mayor and Council

  • Rolli Cacchioni

Fred Macklin and Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award for Citizen of the Year

  • Elaine McMurray

Young Citizen of the Year Award

  • Tian Whitehead

Teen Honour in the Arts Award

  • Julius Brooker

Honour in the Arts Award

  • Karma Lacoff Nieoczym

Bob Giordano Memorial Award for Coach/Sport Administrator of the Year

  • Meghan Faust

Central Okanagan Foundation's Volunteer Organization of the Year Award

  • Meals on Wheels – Central Okanagan Region Nutrition Society

Corporate Community of the Year Award

  • Peter’s Your Independent Grocer

Champion for the Environment Award

  • Columbia Bottle Depots

The Young Citizen of the Year Award finalists and recipient will all receive funding towards their post-secondary education. The Payton and Dillon Budd Memorial Fund Youth Scholarship awards $2,000 to the award winner and $1,000 to each of the finalists.

The recipient of the Teen Honour in the Arts Award will receive an entrance scholarship to the UBCO Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies.

A special thank you to both the award and supporting sponsors of this year's Civic & Community Awards for their generous support including the Central Okanagan Foundation, KCR Community Resources, FortisBC, UBCO, Valley First: a Division of First West Credit Union, the Payton and Dillon Budd Memorial Fund Youth Scholarship, Royal Bank of Canada, the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, Mark of Distinction, Castanet and Bell Media.

Nominations were not accepted in 2020 in the Male and Female Athlete of the Year, High School Athletes of the Year and Athletic Team of the Year categories due to the impact of COVID-19 on team and competitive sport seasons. Any nominees submitted in these categories in 2020 will be carried over to the 2021 awards program and combined with nominations from this year.

Residents can submit nominations for the 2021 Civic & Community Awards starting this fall.

For more on the Civic & Community Awards and the recipients, visit kelowna.ca/civicawards.