2017 Civic and Community Award winners

April 27, 2018
Public service announcement

The winners of the 43rd annual Civic and Community Awards were announced last night at the awards gala held at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

Congratulations to all finalists and recipients of the Civic & Community Awards for 2017.

The winners are:

Anita Tozer Memorial Award
Jimmy LeGuilloux

Bob Giordano Memorial Award
Linda McIntosh

Bryan Couling Memorial Award – Athletic Team of the Year
Kelowna Secondary School Owls Boys Curling Team

Female Athlete of the Year Award
Taryn O’Neill

Male Athlete of the Year Award
Grant Shephard

Female Augie Ciancone Memorial Award
Taryn O’Neill

Male Augie Ciancone Memorial Award
Clarke Larsen

Young Female Volunteer of the Year Award
Ashley Robinson

Young Male Volunteer of the Year Award
Finnegan Pihl

Teen Honour in the Arts Award
Madelyn Miyashita

Honour in the Arts Award
Simone Orlando

Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year Award
Central Okanagan Search and Rescue

Fred Macklin Memorial Award - Man of the Year
Peter Boyd

Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award - Woman of the Year
Catherine Williams

Corporate Community of the Year Award
Small Business
Scotia McLeod/Scotia Wealth Management

Medium/Large Business
Crowe MacKay LLP

Champion for the Environment Award
Angela Nagy

One Big Table

The Young Female and Male Volunteer of the Year Award finalists and recipients will each be receiving funding towards their post-secondary education. The Dillon Thomas Budd Scholarship awards $1,000 to each award recipient and $500 to each of the two finalists. The scholarship was created as well as sponsored by the Thomas Alan Budd Foundation.

Special thanks to the sponsors of this year's event for their generous support: Grant Thornton, FortisBC, Kelowna Community Resources, Central Okanagan Foundation, Royal Bank of Canada, University of British Columbia Okanagan, Prospera Credit Union, Thomas Alan Budd Foundation, Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, SW Audio & Visual, Mark of Distinction, CedarCreek Estate Winery, Kelowna Capital News, Castanet, ShawTV, Bell Media and EZ Rock 101.5. 

Nominations for 2018 Civic & Community Awards will be accepted starting in fall 2018.

For more on the Civic & Community Awards and the recipients, visit kelowna.ca.