Young Male Volunteer of the Year Award

Award Criteria

  • Nominees must be between the ages of 13 and 19 as of December 31, 2018.
  • Awarded to a young male citizen, in recognition of his outstanding voluntary contributions to the well-being of the city of Kelowna. Contributions may be related to recreation, the arts, education, humanities, community service, and/or medical/business/commerce fields.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements/contributions for the year 2018. Past information may be included, but should primarily be regarding the current award year.
  • Finalist selections are based solely on the information in the completed nomination package.

The three successful finalists will receive funding towards their post secondary goals from the Dillon Thomas Budd Youth Scholarship - $1,000 for the award recipient and $500 for each of the two finalists. 
Sponsored by the Thomas Alan Budd Foundation. 

2017 Young Male Volunteer of the Year Award Recipient

Finnegan Pihl

Since the age of 11, Finnegan Pihl has been working to increase awareness and reduce stigma around mental illness. Diagnosed with depression and anxiety at the age of eight, Finn could have quietly taken his medication and remained under the radar of his peers. Instead, he chose to help create awareness and speak out about something that far too often goes undiagnosed and untreated.

Finn made his first public appearance four years ago at a Women and Wellness seminar, speaking out about his illness and how it adversely affected him, explaining how anxiety gets in the way of your life.

In 2017, Finn became the "face" of the Not Alone Campaign, to raise funds for creating the Foundry – the new one-stop community resource center for youth. He was featured prominently in all of the campaign material and was a keynote speaker at various fundraising events. The campaign was so successful, it raised more than $2 million. He was awarded the Capital News Community Leader Award for Youth and named one of the 150 Leading Canadians For Mental Health.

Finn has also been an enthusiastic supporter of, fundraising for a high school in Kenya.

Award Sponsored by:

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2016 - Andrew Kates
  • 2015 - Stuart Isherwood
  • 2014 - Nikolai Lesack
  • 2013 - Jonathon Charlton
  • 2012 - Eli McAlpine
  • 2011 - Terry Lee
  • 2010 - Peter Davidson
  • 2009 - Cody O'Neil
  • 2008 - KJ Hansen
  • 2007 - Ori Powell
  • 2006 - Kevin Craig
  • 2005 - Chris Hall
  • 2004 - Aaron Erhardt
  • 2002 - Daniel Mandryk
  • 2001 - Mark Chambers
  • 2000 - Trevor Roy
  • 1999 - Ben Laurie