Fred Macklin and Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award - Citizen of the Year

Home > Our community > News & events > Civic & Community Awards > Fred Macklin and Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award - Citizen of the Year

2020 Fred Macklin and Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award Recipient: 

Elaine McMurray

Citizen of the Year for 2020 - Elaine McMurrayIn 2020, the contributions that Elaine McMurray made to Kelowna were vast and impactful. She volunteered for St. Vincent de Paul as an agent of systemic change, ensuring the voices of those with lived experience of homelessness in our community were heard. Also in 2020, Elaine helped to launch a national action plan to end homelessness, focusing on social justice. She stepped up to help those most vulnerable in our community through anti-stigma campaigns and by securing and helping to implement a COVID-19 rent relief grant – providing citizens at risk of homelessness with food and rent supports.

Through her role as a member of Lived Experience Circle on Homelessness, she has gone above and beyond advocating for people’s needs, and has played an instrumental role in planting seeds of change to shift perception and understanding of homelessness in our community.  

About the Award

Fred Macklin served Kelowna in many ways throughout his life.  He was the secretary treasurer of School District #23 from 1956 to 1974 and from 1976 to 1984 he was a City of Kelowna Alderman. He was chairman of many organizations including the Kelowna Parks and Recreation Committee, Labour Relations Board, the City Transit Management Committee and the BC Transit Council of BC.  He was also Director and Chairman of the Public Employees Council of BC. He also served as the Honorary Treasurer of the Okanagan Regional Library Board. Fred passed away in 1984.

Sarah Donalda Treadgold was an active and conscientious volunteer who understood the value and importance of working for the community.  She was deeply interested in education and initially volunteered for many years on Kelowna Elementary School's P.T.A.  She was encouraged to run for the office of school trustee in 1924 and topped the polls in every election for the next 23 years. Sarah was a loving mother with good ideas and the passion to stand up for what she believed - much like the other women who have been and will be honoured with the Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to a man or woman in recognition of their outstanding voluntary contributions and community service to the city of Kelowna. Activities may be related to arts and culture, business, commerce, education, humanities, medical and recreation.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements and contributions throughout 2021.
  • Past volunteer information may be included, but the nomination should focus on the current award year.  
  • Nominees must not have personally benefited from their activities, nor should the contributions be considered part of their normal employment or job responsibilities.

Nominations for the 47th annual Civic & Community Awards will open in fall 2021. 

Past Recipients of the Citizen of the Year Award

Previous recipients of the Fred Macklin & Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award for Citizen of the Year: 

  • 2019 - Al Hildebrandt

Prior to 2019, Kelowna's citizen of the year award was split into two categories (male/female).
Moving forward, only one Citizen of the Year (all genders) will be named. 

Previous recipients of the Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award for Female Citizen of the Year: 

  • 2018 - Angie Lohr
  • 2017 - Catherine Williams
  • 2016 - Kelly Taverner
  • 2015 - Lorena Mead
  • 2014 - Meryle Corbett
  • 2013 - Rose Sexsmith
  • 2012 - Shaun Bos
  • 2011 - Marie Ablett 
  • 2010 - Julie Wambeke
  • 2009 - Mohini Singh
  • 2008 - Allison McNeill
  • 2007 - Jane Fletcher
  • 2006 - Lorraine McGrath
  • 2005 - Wendy Falkowski
  • 2004 - Linda Woods
  • 2003 - Beryl Itani
  • 2002 - Beryl Baldeo
  • 2001 - Frances Klassen
  • 2000 - Shirley Jensen/Sunny Hildebrant
  • 1999 - Margaret Caley

Previous recipients of the Fred Macklin Memorial Award: 

  • 2018 - Giuseppe (Joe) Iafrancesco
  • 2017 - Peter Boyd
  • 2016 - Gary Benson
  • 2015 - Raghwa Gopal
  • 2014 - David Krysko
  • 2013 - Sean Pihl
  • 2012 - Ken Thompson
  • 2011 - Paul Nesbitt
  • 2010 - Thomas Budd
  • 2009 - Vern Neilson
  • 2008 - Ron Rubadeau
  • 2007 - Walter Gray
  • 2006 - Ian Graham
  • 2005 - Steve Tuck
  • 2004 - Ken Campbell
  • 2003 - Mel Kotler
  • 2002 - Clarence Johnson
  • 2001 - Peter Nahirnak
  • 2000 - Walter Hut/Bren Witt
  • 1999 - Tom Smithwick

Award sponsored by: