Augie Ciancone Memorial Award - Male

Augie Ciancone was instrumental in setting up Kelowna's first formal sports and recreation program for youth.  He was an all-around athlete, excelling in gymnastics, lacrosse, boxing and horsemanship.

Augie's greatest gift was his ability and personal desire to encourage the young people of Kelowna to get involved in sports.  He also challenged them to achieve their personal best.  His goal was to turn their lives around by instilling the desire to challenge and achieve personal satisfaction through sports.  

Augie passed away in January of 1952.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to the most outstanding male high school athlete in the area of the Central Okanagan.
  • Winner is chosen by the Okanagan Central Schools Athletic Association. 

 To nominate someone, please contact the  School District

2016 Augie Ciancone Memorial Award Male Recipient

Fynn McCarthy

It’s rare to find an athlete competing at top level in three or more sports, but Fynn McCarthy found a way to excel at four. Although he has dropped rep baseball, he still competes at the top tier in volleyball, hockey and basketball.

As a member of the Kelowna Volleyball Club team and co-captain of George Elliot Senior Boys’ teams, Fynn’s athletic ability attracted attention. Named to Team BC three years in a row, last summer, he stepped up to play on the U18 National Youth Volleyball Team. He was named the #2 player in the Province of BC and was given a scholarship to play for UBC in Vancouver next year.

In high school basketball, Fynn was the top scorer and rebounder on the team, with the talent to play at the post-secondary level. He is also Assistant Captain on his Midget Rep Hockey team.

Despite the tremendous commitment to train and compete in three sports, Fynn has volunteered as an instructor for the Lake Country U15 Volleyball team and as a course usher for the school’s Terry Fox run, all while maintaining excellent grades.

Award Sponsored by:

Past Recipients of the Award
  • 2015 - Parker Simson
  • 2014 - Jeff Tubbs
  • 2013 - Josiah Joseph
  • 2012 - Ryan Linttell
  • 2011 - Mitchell Goodwin
  • 2010 - Devin Spence
  • 2009 - Conner Clerke 
  • 2008 - Adam Schwarz
  • 2007 - Lukas Bonnett
  • 2006 - Zack Frehlick
  • 2005 - Quinten Dreger
  • 2004 - Will Dean
  • 2003 - Kyle Murphy
  • 2002 - Jeff Barth
  • 2001 - Dallas Weller
  • 2000 - Troy Doell
  • 1999 - John Rowe