Journey Home Task Force

The Journey Home Task Force supports the development of a long-term strategy to address homelessness. The name “Journey Home” reinforces the importance of shifting from traditional methods to a new approach of addressing the needs of those at risk of homelessness.

The process for developing the Journey Home strategy is designed to be community-driven and inclusive, representing a variety of voices including those with the lived experience of homelessness.  The goal is to build a long-term strategy to prevent homelessness whenever possible; and if it does occur, to have a coordinated approach that will help to ensure it is rare, short-lived and non-reoccurring.

As per the Terms of Reference, the Task Force will report to Council and is supported by Active Living & Culture Division staff. Dr. Kyleen Myrah and Martin Bell are Co-Chairs for the Journey Home Task Force, which will run for approximately one year, concluding in June 2018. 

Members represent a wide diversity in sector-representation, skills and knowledge areas including: lived experience, first-hand knowledge of service navigation, health and support services, housing development and provision, and funding.

The 21 members to the Journey Home Task Force are:

  • Ann Howard on behalf of BC Housing
  • Cheryl Miller on behalf of Central Okanagan Foundation
  • John Yarshenko on behalf of Interior Health Authority
  • Harleen Price on behalf of Ministry of Social Development & Poverty Reduction
  • Jennifer Houde/Shawna Whitney on behalf of Okanagan Nation Alliance
  • Tina Larouche on behalf of the Ki-Low-Na Friendship Society
  • Diane Roy on behalf of Westbank First Nation
  • Brent Mundle on behalf of RCMP
  • Theresa Arsenault, QC
  • Gaelene Askeland
  • Tom Dyas
  • Diane Entwistle
  • Mike Gawliuk
  • David Krysko
  • Scott Lanigan
  • Carrie McDonald
  • Lisa McHaffie
  • Pam Moore
  • Brenda Plitt
  • Kelly Taverner
  • Shane Worman

Learn more about the members in this introduction e-update.

The Journey Home Task Force has added a national expert . The Task Force will be supported by the expertise of the Dr. Alina Turner and Turner Strategies. Turner Strategies has also partnered with the Canadian Observatory on Homelessness and A Way Home Canada to prepare the Journey Home plan. The Observatory is a leader in Canada in forming partnerships to conduct research for more effective solutions to homelessness. Read about some of the work that is ongoing including the recently released position paper by members of the Turner Strategies team, Defining and measuring an end to homelessness: Considerations for the National Housing StrategyA Way Home Canada is a national coalition focused on addressing youth homelessness.

There are no upcoming meetings posted at this time. Please check back or subscribe to our RSS feed for notification.

Meeting Date Location Agenda Minutes
Journey Home Task Force May 23, 2018 - 5:00pm KARIS Support Society
550 Rowcliffe Avenue, Kelowna, BC
Journey Home Task Force May 10, 2018 - 5:00pm Urban Systems
1353 Ellis Street, Kelowna, BC
Journey Home Task Force April 10, 2018 - 5:30pm Westbank First Nation
1900 Quail Lane, Upper Floor
Journey Home Task Force April 3, 2018 - 5:30pm Knox Mountain Meeting Room
City Hall, 1435 Water Street
Journey Home Task Force February 21, 2018 - 5:00pm Ki-Low-Na Friendship Society
442 Leon Avenue, Kelowna, BC
Journey Home Task Force January 24, 2018 - 5:00pm Okanagan Regional Library - Kelowna Branch
Lower Meeting Room
Journey Home Task Force December 13, 2017 - 5:00pm Okanagan Regional Library - Kelowna Branch
Lower Meeting Room
Journey Home Task Force November 1, 2017 - 5:00pm Okanagan Regional Library - Kelowna Branch
Lower Meeting Room
Journey Home Task Force September 27, 2017 - 5:00pm Rotary Centre for the Arts
Pacific Safety Products Boardroom

The electronic versions of the City of Kelowna committee minutes are provided for information purposes only and are not the official versions. The City will not be responsible for their accuracy or completeness and they should not be used in place of certified copies. Only those minutes that have been adopted by the Committee are available. To receive official copies of the minutes, please contact the Office of the City Clerk at 250-469-8645.

These documents are in Adobe PDF format and html format.