City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Fred Macklin Memorial Award - Man of the Year

Fred Macklin Memorial Award
Man of the Year


Award History

Fred Macklin served Kelowna in many ways throughout his life.  He was the secretary treasurer of School District #23 from 1956 to 1974 and from 1976 to 1984 he was a City of Kelowna Alderman.  Fred Macklin was also seconded by the Ministry of Education to consult on education finance for two years.  He was chairman of many organizations including the Kelowna Parks and Recreation Committee, Labour Relations Board, the City Transit Management Committee and the BC Transit Council of BC.  He was also Director and Chairman of the Public Employees Council of BC.  Fred also served as the Honorary Treasurer of the Okanagan Regional Library Board. 

Fred passed away in 1984.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to a man in recognition of his outstanding voluntary contributions and community service to the city of Kelowna. Activities may be related to arts and culture, business, commerce, education, humanities, medical and recreation.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements and contributions throughout 2015.
  • Past volunteer information may be included, but the nomination should focus on the current award year.  
  • Nominees must not have personally benefited from their activities, nor should the contributions be considered part of their normal employment or job responsibilities.

Nominate a deserving individual for Man of the Year. online nomination / pdf nomination


Past Recipients of the Award

2015 - Raghwa Gopal
2014 - David Krysko
2013 - Sean Pihl
2012 - Ken Thompson
2011 - Paul Nesbitt
2010 - Thomas Budd
2009 - Vern Neilson
2008 - Ron Rubadeau
2007 - Walter Gray
2006 - Ian Graham
2005 - Steve Tuck
2004 - Ken Campbell
2003 - Mel Kotler
2002 - Clarence Johnson
2001 - Peter Nahirnak
2000 - Walter Hut/Bren Witt
1999 - Tom Smithwick

Award Sponsored by

FortisBC logo


Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy