City Hall Home Residents Home Business Home Visitors Home Search Home
 > Home Page > Residents > Community Information > Civic & Community Awards > Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award - Woman of the Year

Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award
Woman of the Year

Award History

Sarah Donalda Treadgold was an active and conscientious volunteer who understood the value and importance of working for the community.  She was deeply interested in education and initially volunteered for many years on Kelowna Elementary School's P.T.A.  She was encouraged to run for the office of school trustee in 1924 and topped the polls in every election for the next 23 years. Sarah was unassuming and definitely not looking for glory or trying to gain popularity. She was a loving mother with good ideas and the passion to stand up for what she believed - much like the other women who have been and will be honoured with the Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award.

Award Criteria

  • Awarded to a woman in recognition of their outstanding voluntary contributions and community service to the city of Kelowna. Activities may be related to arts and culture, business, commerce, education, humanities, medical and recreation.
  • Selections are based on the nominee's achievements and contributions throughout 2016.
  • Past volunteer information may be included, but the nomination should focus on the current award year.  
  • Nominees must not have personally benefited from their activities, nor should the contributions be considered part of their normal employment or job responsibilities.

Nominate a deserving individual for Woman of the Year. online nomination / pdf nomination

2015 Sarah Donalda Treadgold Memorial Award Recipient Woman of the Year

Lorena Mead


It takes a very special person to work with Special Olympic athletes and luckily for the Kelowna Grizzlies softball team, for the past 25 years, that someone has been Lorena Mead.

In 2015, Lorena spent close to 650 volunteer hours with these athletes. Their training included gym time as well as time on the field, and she arranged competitions against the recreational players and leagues to help her athletes hone better skills. She handled the logistics of getting everyone to provincial and national training camps, sourced out equipment and then spent two weeks at the Olympics with them. Despite her teaching that winning isn’t everything, the team was rewarded with a bronze medal, and a BC Hall of Fame spot for being the only team to ever win medals at three different World Games – 1999, 2011 and 2015. 

Off the field, Lorena helped with passport applications, medications and filling out forms then acted as an advocate for the players. She has helped coach, embraced and loved each and every one of these athletes, helping them learn as much about softball, as the life skills most of us take for granted. In their eyes, she is truly special.

Past Recipients

2015 - Lorena Mead
2014 - Meryle Corbett
2013 - Rose Sexsmith
2012 - Shaun Bos
2011 - Marie Ablett
2010 - Julie Wambeke
2009 - Mohini Singh
2008 - Allison McNeill
2007 - Jane Fletcher
2006 - Lorraine McGrath
2005 - Wendy Falkowski
2004 - Linda Woods
2003 - Beryl Itani
2002 - Beryl Baldeo
2001 - Frances Klassen
2000 - Shirley Jensen/Sunny Hildebrant
1999 - Margaret Caley

Award Sponsored by

FortisBC logo


Printer-friendly Contact Us     Site Map     Plug-ins     Site Disclaimer     Privacy Policy